Zonta Club will honor 5 local women with ROSE Awards

SARANAC LAKE — The Zonta Club of the Adirondacks invites the public to attend the third annual Recognition of Service and Excellence (ROSE) Awards Celebration Brunch in honor of International Women’s Day on March 28 at the Hotel Saranac, 100 Main St., starting at 10 a.m.

This year’s honorees are Gail Brill of Saranac Lake, Liane Colby of Lake Placid, Mary Dietrich of Lake Placid, Devann Murphy of Keeseville and Shirley Hosler of Saranac Lake.

Proceeds from this charitable event will support Zonta ADK’s Scholarship Fund, benefiting area high school students and other local women and girls seeking opportunities for advancement. Ticket prices start at $20 and are on sale through March 20 at www.rosebrunch.eventbrite.com.

The five local women who were selected to be lauded at this year’s ROSE brunch represent the arts, law enforcement and emergency services, environmental causes, athletics, community volunteer work, educational opportunity and beyond. Each is an example of the positive influence one woman can have on a community, and each was nominated by a member of the local Zonta Club.

Past local honorees include Wendy Beeman, Ruth Hart, Linda Hudson, Georgia Jones, Kaysie Kyler, Johanna Mac Dougall, Patti McConvey, Kristin Makrin, Amy Pasco, Vanessa Pillen , Mary Rooks, Linda Shaw Young, Anna Izzo, Lisa Hudson, Janelle Bausman, Valerie Abraham-Rogers, Shelby Davis, Barb Erikson, Kathy Ford and Linda Blair.

Any questions about the event can be directed to adirondacks@zontadistrict2.org.

Zonta International is a 99-year-old, nonpartisan organization of professionals and business people empowering women, with 30,000 members in 66 countries.