TRAC pleased Proposal 3 passed

To the editor:

The Trails with Rails Action Committee is pleased that voters approved Proposal No. 3, the Forest Preserve land bank amendment, spearheaded by Sen. Betty Little, which amends the New York State Constitution to benefit residents and municipalities throughout the Adirondacks and Catskills.

TRAC is comprised of groups and individuals representing environmental, historic preservation, trail advocacy, railroad, bicycle, cross-country ski, hiking and downtown revitalization interests. TRAC members are local residents as well as visitors to the Adirondack Park. TRAC advocates for the synergistic development of diverse recreational and transportation opportunities to bring visitors to the Adirondacks and connect communities within the Park.

Of particular importance to TRAC is that the Proposal No. 3 amendment allows for bicycle paths to be developed within the highway corridors that connect our small towns in the Adirondacks. How to legally and most efficiently and cost-effectively build such community connector trails has been the subject of great debate for many years in the Adirondacks. Proposal No. 3 offers a simple solution to this long-running debate.

TRAC advocates for a rails-with-trails solution for the Remsen-Lake Placid Travel Corridor, and we stand behind our “in-and-out-of the corridor” trail plans that we provided to the state for a win-win solution. We are pleased that this new option to develop bike paths within state highway corridors allows for even greater diversity of trail solutions to connect communities and join up to the rail corridor.

TRAC thanks voters for approving Proposal No. 3 because it allows us all to get back to working together for the benefit of our Park and its residents and visitors. Onward together for the win-win!


Sunita Halasz

Steve Erman

Robert Hest

Phil Gallos

Steven Engelhart

Allen Dunham

Mary B. Hotaling

Keith Gorgas

Gail Brill

Jason Brill

Alan D. Roberts

Amy Catania

Chiprle Mecklenburg

Daniel Mecklenburg Sr.

Mark Kurtz

Chris Brescia

Marc Wanner

Judy Rush

John O’Neill

Joy Cranker