Locals elected to school boards


In the only contested school board race in the area, Aaron Miller beat Angela Durant by three votes in a 67 to 64 victory for a spot on the Keene Central school board.

“It was a close vote because we had two very passionate candidates,” Miller said. “Either one of us would have been a good addition to the school board. I’m just really honored for the opportunity to work with them.”

Miller said he doesn’t have any big plans for the district himself at this time. He’d like to ease into the position and make listening a key component of his work. Miller would also like to help the district’s goals of working on a few capital projects in the next coming years and integrating more STEAM classes (science-technology-engineering-arts-math) into the curriculum.

“However I can lend my support to keep the good work that’s go on moving ahead is why I’m excited to participate,” he said.

Miller is a 1987 Keene Central alumnus, he’s currently the director at the Keene Public Library and his daughter just started kindergarten in the district.

“I’m very much looking forward to this,” he said. “I’ve lived in lot of different places since leaving Keene Central, but this is the only place that really felt like home, and the school is a big part of that. If I can pay back the school and the community in some way, I’ll feel like I’ve done my part.”

Tupper Lake

The two Tupper Lake school board members who ran for reelection unopposed were both approved. Jane Whitmore will begin her fourth term on the board with 301 votes, and Shaleen Price will start her first full term with 283.

“We have a really diverse board and everyone’s got their passions for sports, the arts, reinstating programs,” Whitmore said. “I think we have a nice board that represents well across the school.”

Long Lake

Trisha Hosley, who ran for her first term on the school board unopposed took the position with 113 votes. There were also write-in votes for Pat Gibbs, Mike Black, James Bateman and Christine LaRocque, who got two write-ins. Nine board votes were marked as “spoiled.”

Saranac Lake

Incumbent Rick Retrosi was re-elected with 310 votes. Newcomer Nancy Bernstein received 304 votes, and Aurora White, who will be returning to the board after a one-term hiatus, received 283.

AuSable Valley

Three school board members were re-elected, all of whom ran without opposition. Sherry Snow, Robyn Pray and Mark Allen received votes of 333, 320 and 294, respectively.

Lake Placid

With three spots open and three candidates, everyone got a spot on the school board.

Colleen Locke received 257 votes and Martha Spear got 251 votes, giving them both 3-year terms on the Lake Place school board. Brian “Liam” Kennelly received the least amount of votes with 211, meaning he will replace Linda O’Leary, who resigned in February, and fulfill the remaining one-year term for that seat.