Mazdzer, Meyers Taylor finalists for Team USA Awards

PYEONGCHANG, South Korea — Luger Chris Mazdzer and bobsledder Elana Meyers Taylor, Olympic silver medalist sliders based out of the Olympic Training Center in Lake Placid, have been named finalists for “Best of the Games” Team USA Awards.

Fans are invited to vote for their favorite athletes and teams at through Friday, March 16.

The U.S. Olympic Committee named Mazdzer as one of five finalists for Male Olympic Athlete of the Games and Meyers Taylor as one of five finalists for Female Olympic Athlete of the Games. There are also five finalists for Olympic Team of the Games as well as five each for Paralympic male, female and team of the games.

The six award winners will be announced during the Team USA Awards on April 26 in Washington, D.C.

Mazdzer, who grew up in Saranac Lake and whose parents still live there, won the silver medal in men’s singles luge on Feb. 11. It was the first Olympic medal of any kind an American had ever won in men’s singles luge.

Meyers Taylor piloted a U.S. bobsled to silver in South Korea on Feb. 21, with Lauren Gibbs as brakeman. It’s Meyers Taylor’s third Olympic medal. She won as silver as pilot in the 2014 games in Russia and a bronze as brakeman in 2010 in Canada. While Douglasville, Georgia, is her hometown, she has lived in Lake Placid while training for many years.

Both the USA Luge and U.S. Bobsled and Skeleton Federation are based in Lake Placid.

A nominating committee selected the 2018 Olympic Best of the Games finalists based on nominations from each national governing body.

The 15 Olympic nominees are as follows:

Female Olympic Athlete of the Games

¯ Jamie Anderson (South Lake Tahoe, California), snowboarding

¯ Brittany Bowe (Ocala, Florida), long track speedskating

¯ Chloe Kim (Torrance, California), snowboarding

¯ Elana Meyers Taylor (Douglasville, Georgia), bobsled

¯ Mikaela Shiffrin (Eagle-Vail, Colorado), alpine skiing

Male Olympic Athlete of the Games

¯ Red Gerard (Silverthorne, Colorado), snowboarding

¯ John-Henry Krueger (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania), short track speedskating

¯ Chris Mazdzer (Saranac Lake, New York), luge

¯ Shaun White (Carlsbad, California), snowboarding

¯ David Wise (Reno, Nevada), freestyle skiing

Olympic Team of the Games

¯ Jessie Diggins (Afton, Minnesota) and Kikkan Randall (Anchorage, Alaska), cross-country skiing

¯ U.S. Olympic men’s curling team

¯ U.S. Olympic women’s ice hockey team