Senate OKs Clinton, Franklin County sales tax extensions

ALBANY — The state Senate on Thursday approved two bills that would authorize Franklin and Clinton counties to continue their current sales tax rates of 4 percent, on top of the state’s 4 percent.

Each county’s legislature approved resolutions requesting the state authorization. Sen. Betty Little sponsored the “home-rule” requests for each county.

Each county’s current 4 percent sales and compensating use tax comprises a 3 percent rate and an additional 1 percent, which expires at the end of November this year. The legislation approved today authorizes the counties to continue the additional 1 percent through Nov. 30, 2019.

The bills were sent to the Assembly, where Assemblyman David “Billy” Jones, D-Chateaugay, is their sponsor.