USA Luge announces Junior National Team

LAKE PLACID — USA Luge announced on Wednesday the Junior National Team who will be representing the nation for the 2024-2025 racing season.

The 2024 Junior World Champions Marcus Mueller and Ansel Haugsjaa will return following a successful season that included a first Junior World Championships gold medal for a U.S. sled since Emily Sweeney won the title in 2013. Mueller, of Brookfield, Wisconsin and Haugsjaa, of Acton, Massachusetts, earned top three finishes in every Junior race they entered, including a 2023 World Championship bronze and a gold medal at the Norton Junior National Championships.

They are joined by Logan Barnes and Gavin Davis who placed second at the Norton Junior National Championships. Barnes, of Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, and Davis, of Berwick, Pennsylvania, placed 11th in the Junior World Championships in their first season together. Norton Junior National Championships silver medalist and Junior World Cup podium regular Aidan Mueller of West Islip will lead the charge for the United States in men’s singles. Mueller placed third in the overall Junior World Cup rankings during the 2023-24 campaign. Barnes, who placed third at the Norton Junior National Championships, will also race in men’s singles.

In women’s singles, 2024 Norton Junior National Champion Sophia Gordon returns joined by Macey Schomaker. Gordon, of Sussex, Wisconsin, placed 16th in Junior World Championships, while Schomaker, of Park City, Utah, took bronze in the Norton Junior National Championships and placed 22nd in Junior World Championships. The Junior World Championships will take place in St. Moritz, Switzerland on Feb. 1 and 2, 2025. Park City, Utah and Lake Placid will host Youth Continental Cup races on Jan. 14 and 15 and Feb. 18 and 19, respectively.

Below is the members of the Junior National C, Junior C and D teams that were announced.

Junior National “C” Team (Junior Class to age 21)

Seth Coates of Potsdam, New York

Orson Colby of Riverton, Utah

Brianna Gosnell of Collegeville, Pennsylvania

Elizabeth Kleinheinz of Santa Clara, California

Maggie Richardson of Mt. Vernon, Ohio

Talia Tonn of Cecil, Wisconsin

Nathan Bivins of Castleton, New York

Wolfgang Lux of Swanton, Vermont

Sadie Martin of Vermontville, New York

Junior “C” Team (Youth A Class to age 18)

Brock Bartol of Suamico, Wisconsin

Josh Berzowski of Pulaski, Wisconsin

Chris Brand of Downers Grove, Illinois

Brady Cowden of Collingswood, New Jersey

Ian Cowden of Collingswood, New Jersey

Gabe Desautels of Georgia, Vermont

Riley Dombard of Downers Grove, Illinois

Michael Montegari of Remsen, New York

Andrew Robertson of South Jordan, Utah

Sinatra Robles of Castleton, Vermont

Chase Somers of Saginaw, Michigan

Ben Wingfield of Park City, Utah

Kendall Achen of Manheim, Pennsylvania

Adeline Albert of Worthington, Ohio

Zola Andonopoulos of Westmont, Illinois

Lillian Arnold of Billerica, Massachusetts

Rebecca Cramer of Kimberly, Wisconsin

Abigail Lorz of Kanata, Ontario

Breckan Luedke of Menasha, Wisconsin

Emryn McCarty of Swampscott, Massachusetts

Caylin Weaver of Indianapolis, Indiana

Elin Weaver of Indianapolis, Indiana

Junior “D” Team (Youth Class ages 10-16)

Hawker Craig of Heber City, Utah

Tristan Gable of Camano Island, Washington

Quattro McDonald of Park City, Utah

Liam Perl of Orem, Utah

Gavin Theisen of Salt Lake City, Utah

Axton Zahniser of Park City, Utah

Greta Hayes of Park City, Utah

Addilyn Holm of Stansbury, Utah

Miriel Schomaker of Park City, Utah

Molly Schomaker of Park City, Utah

Sophia Sorensen of South Jordan, Utah

Brynley Wilson of Stansbury, Utah

Eli Acker of Powell, Ohio

Bryce Bajus of Wynnewood, Pennsylvania

Warren Briggs of Madrid, New York

Caleb Dusek of New London, Wisconsin

Austin Gray of Williston, Vermont

Mateo Guevara-Derber of Brillion, Wisconsin

Samuel Hazell of Medway, Massachusetts

Landon Kozik of Norfolk, Massachusetts

Brennan Marek of Chesapeake, Virginia

Bryson Palisoc of Lisle, Illinois

Colin Petersen of Columbus, Ohio

Bentley Pond of Shrewsbury, Massachusetts

Andrew Portuese of Queensbury, New York

Marcus Portuese of Queensbury, New York

William Roberts of Holliston, Massachusetts

Jonathan Sigg of Columbus, Ohio

Tobias Tuper of Moira, New York

Maxim Zayonc of Lake Placid, New York

Reilyn Bajus of Wynnewood, Pennsylvania

Emmelina Campos of Clarendon Hills, Illinois

Violet Clancy of Malvern, Pennsylvania

Brynn Davison of Holliston, Massachusetts

Sophia Etheridge of Westerville, Ohio

Stephanie Hoylman of Columbus, Ohio

Ruby Leno of Merion Station, Pennsylvania

Kaitlynn Mauck of Carroll, Ohio

Olivia Perry of Rome, New York

Delilah Salgado of Ashland, Massachusetts

Olivia St. Pierre of Medway, Massachusetts

Sarah Stefanides of West Chester, Pennsylvania

Tatum Tonn of Cecil, Wisconsin


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today