Holmes, Shumway repeat as Fun Run champs

Participants in the annual Saranac Lake Winter Carnival Ice Palace Fun Run leave the start line on Lake Flower Avenue Saturday morning. Among the runners pictured is Tim Smith, wearing his Flintstones attire. (Enterprise photo — Lou Reuter)

SARANAC LAKE — Eric Holmes and Jessica Shumway repeated as champions Saturday at the annual Saranac Lake Winter Carnival Fun Run.

Holmes was the overall winner of the race, completing the 4-mile course in 28 minutes, 11 seconds. He won the race last year in 27:05.

Jared Whalen, who finished third in 2018, was the second to cross the line with a time of 28:55. Camden Fort was third in 30:56.

Shumway was the sixth overall finisher and first woman to finish Saturday’s race. She recorded a time of 31:30, which was 10 seconds faster than her time last year. Meg Charles was the second woman to cross the line with a time of 31:39. Tawnia Provost was third in 32:53.

The Saranac Lake Fun Run was sponsored by NBT Bank. Lakeview Deli donated a $25 gift certificate, which was awarded to the winner of the Dinosaur Trivia Contest. Only two entries answered all seven questions correctly and after a random draw, Ross Manny was declared the winner of the gift certificate.

Jessica Shumway reaches the finish line Saturday to win the women’s Ice Palace fun run title for the second year in a row. Also pictured is Meg Charles, who finished second. (Enterprise photo — Lou Reuter)

The race was organized by Dave Staszak, and aided by the help of volunteers Patti Staszak, Abby Newton, Tom Dudones, Stacy Allott and Julie Conners.

Saranac Lake Winter Carnival Fun Run

Saturday’s Results

Eric Holmes 28:11

Jared Whalen 28:55

Camden Fort 30:56

Derek Prill 31:09

Michael Trumbower 31:16

Jessica Shumway 31:30

Meg Charles 31:39

Ryan Schlosser 31:57

Lance Bradley 31:58

Logan Bradley 32:15

Andy Pickreign 32:20

Chris Otis Elliott 32:22

Charles Shaw 32:25

Tawnia Provost 32:53

Aaron Burdeau 33:05

Heidi Czerepak 34:11

Dre Rozbuck 35:57

David Schtiff 36:23

Kaitlyn Romagizoli 36:33

Austin Pinard 37:09

Liam Murray 37:13

Blake Battin 37:28

Joanie Semler 37:29

Bam Bam 37:33

Alyssa Valachovic 37:50

Luke Hudak 38:21

Ryley Fisher 38:41

Brad Varner 38:41

Andrea Hudak 38:55

Marcus Painter 38:58

Eric Barr 39:39

Jessie Barr 39:40

Bill Peer 39:42

Kyle Akxonian 39:58

Katie O’Reilly Morgan 39:59

Sarah Funk 40:00

Ross Manny 41:33

Mary Houck 41:36

Jake Vitale 41:44

Bib # 281 43:00

Jason Stack 43:02

Susan Stevens 43:03

Greta Nystrom 43:08

John Plamer 43:11

Catherine Munn 43:44

Ann Marie Munn 43:44

Christine Corcran 44:00

Ella Nieisea 44:00

Annika Hamittar 44:00

Bill Izzo 44:00

Meredith Nordell 44:02

Maeline Clark 44:15

Natalie Muskin 46:00

Amy Hait 46:24

Bridget Smith 46:24

John Stack 47:09

Eliza Luden 47:12

Nancy St. Laurent 47:32

Lisa Rupplo 47:32

Henry Voelkler 47:45

George Muller 48:49

Trish Wickwire 49:16

Kelsey Lippert 50:42

Julie Devries 50:51

Kathleen Morse 51:28

Jenny Blasé 55:00