Vote for Democrats in Franklin

To the editor:

I am writing in support of Leo Demong and Dick Jarvis, Democratic candidates for town council in the town of Franklin. Both men are longtime residents who appreciate the quality of life in our town and want to give back to the community by taking part in town government. I believe they will bring new perspectives to the board, and I am confident that they will put in the work to help run the town.

Their experience as state employees — Leo in fisheries and Dick as an environmental program specialist — has made them appreciate the importance of good communication between local, county and state officials. They will be available to aid residents in working through red tape and will keep an eye out for opportunities to bring grant funding to the town. As property owners and taxpayers, they take a conservative approach to the budget and will make sure that town money is spent wisely.

Rounding out the slate of candidates endorsed by town of Franklin Democrats are Dot Brown for town supervisor, Jacques DeMars for highway superintendent and Lauren LeFebvre for town clerk/tax collector. All three are excellent choices for their positions.

Finally, I want to urge Franklin and Harrietstown residents to send Lindy Ellis back to the Franklin County board for a full term. She has done a superb job in representing and advocating for those of us living in the south end of the Franklin County.

Please join me in voting for these candidates on Nov. 5!


Ellen Beberman

Chair, Town of Franklin Democratic Committee


P.S.: Early voting will be implemented throughout New York state for the first time this fall! Franklin County voters can vote in Malone beginning on Oct. 26. Other dates and times can be found at the Franklin County Board of Elections website. If you have questions or need a ride to the poll, please contact me at 518-637-6653.