Franklin voters can meet all candidates at Friday event

VERMONTVILLE — The town of Franklin will host a meet-the-candidates event at the Franklin Town Hall from 6 to 8 p.m. Friday.

Two town council spots have four candidates running — Democrats Leo Demong and Dick Jarvis, and Republicans Glen Swinyer and Brad Merrill, none of whom is currently on the board.

The race for town highway superintendent will see incumbent Jacques Demars, running on both the Democratic and Republican lines, go against Leo Law of the Unity Party.

Town supervisor is uncontested with newcomer Dorothy Brown, who’s been endorsed by both the Democratic and Republican parties.

Current town Clerk and Tax Collector Lauren Lefebvre is running unopposed for reelection.

The two candidates running for Franklin County Legislator in District 7 (which includes Franklin and Harrietstown) will also be there: Democratic incumbent Lindy Ellis and Cliff Donaldson of the Common Sense Party, who held the position for 13 years in the 1980s and ’90s.

The event will be informal. Candidates won’t make speeches or debate, but will be available to residents who have questions.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 5.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today