×

Pyeongchang is 14 hours ahead of us; first week’s event schedule in Eastern Standard Time

LAKE PLACID — Residents here in the Eastern Standard Time (EST) zone watching live coverage of the Olympic Winter Games in Pyeongchang — either on television or on the internet — will have to subtract 14 hours from the times the events are held in South Korea.

Korea Standard Time (KST) is 14 hours ahead of New York state.

For example, when opening ceremony started at 8 p.m. KST today, it was 6 a.m. EST.

The competition program for Pyeongchang includes six new events: snowboard big air (men’s and women’s), speedskating mass start (men’s and women’s), curling mixed doubles and the alpine skiing team event. In all, the total number of gold medal events will be 102, the most ever contested at an Olympic Winter Games to date.

Below is the first week’s schedule. We’ve only included medal events and USA team events. The full schedule can be found online at www.pyeongchang2018.com.

FRIDAY,FEB. 9

USA team events

¯ Curling: Mixed Doubles — USA vs. Switzerland — 6:05 p.m. EST Thursday (8:05 a.m. KST Friday)

¯ Curling: Mixed Doubles — USA vs. Republic of Korea — 11:35 p.m. EST Thursday (1:35 p.m. KST Friday)

Opening ceremony

¯ Olympic Stadium — 6 a.m. EST (8 p.m. KST)

SATURDAY, FEB. 10

Medal competition

¯ Biathlon: Women’s 7.5km Sprint — 6:15 a.m. EST (8:15 p.m. KST)

¯ Cross-Country Skiing: Ladies’ 7.5km + 7.5km Skiathlon — 2:15 a.m. EST (4:15 p.m. KST)

¯ Short-track Speedskating: Men’s 1,500m (final heat) — 7:28 a.m. EST (9:28 p.m. KST)

¯ Ski Jumping: Men’s Normal Hill Individual — 8:35 a.m. EST (10:35 p.m. KST)

¯ Speedskating: Ladies’ 3,000m — 6 a.m. EST (8 p.m. KST)

USA team events

¯ Curling: Mixed Doubles — USA vs. China — 7:05 p.m. EST Friday (9:05 a.m. KST Saturday)

¯ Curling: Mixed Doubles — USA vs. Norway — 6:05 a.m. EST (8:05 p.m. KST)

SUNDAY, FEB. 11

Medal competition

¯ Alpine Skiing: Men’s Downhill — 9 p.m. EST Saturday (11 a.m. KST Sunday)

¯ Biathlon: Men’s 10km Sprint — 6:15 a.m. EST (8:15 p.m. KST)

¯ Cross-Country Skiing: Men’s 15km + 15km Skiathlon — 1:15 a.m. EST (3:15 p.m. KST)

¯ Freestyle Skiing: Ladies’ Moguls (final run) — 8:10 a.m. EST (10:10 p.m. KST)

¯ Luge: Men’s Singles (Runs 3/4) — 6 a.m. EST (8 p.m. KST)

¯ Snowboard: Men’s Slopestyle (final run) — 9:04 p.m. EST Saturday (11:04 a.m. KST Sunday)

¯ Speedskating: Men’s 5,000m — 2 a.m. EST (4 p.m. KST)

USA team events

¯ Curling: Mixed Doubles — USA vs. Finland — 7:05 p.m. EST Saturday (9:05 a.m. KST Sunday)

¯ Ice Hockey: Women — USA vs. Finland — 2:40 a.m. EST (4:40 p.m. KST)

MONDAY, FEB. 12

Medal competition

¯ Alpine Skiing: Ladies’ Giant Slalom — 11:45 p.m. EST Sunday (1:15 p.m. KST Monday)

¯ Biathlon: Women’s 10km Pursuit — 5:10 a.m. EST (7:10 p.m. KST)

¯ Biathlon: Men’s 12.5km Pursuit — 7 a.m. EST (9 p.m. KST)

¯ Figure Skating: Team Ice Dance Free Dance — 10:20 p.m. EST Sunday (12:20 p.m. KST Monday)

¯ Freestyle Skiing: Men’s Moguls — 8:10 a.m. EST (10:10 p.m. KST)

¯ Ski Jumping: Ladies’ Normal Hill Individual (final round) — 8:35 a.m. EST (10:35 p.m. KST)

¯ Snowboard: Ladies’ Slopestyle (final run) — 9:06 p.m. EST Sunday (11:06 a.m. KST Monday)

¯ Speedskating: Ladies’ 1,500m — 7:30 a.m. EST (9:30 p.m. KST)

TUESDAY, FEB. 13

Medal competition

¯ Alpine Skiing: Men’s Alpine Combined Slalom — 1 a.m. EST (3 p.m. KST)

¯ Cross-Country Skiing: Ladies’ Sprint Classic (final) — 7:25 a.m. EST (9:25 p.m. KST)

¯ Cross-Country Skiing: Men’s Sprint Classic (final) — 7:34 a.m. EST (9:34 p.m. KST)

¯ Luge: Women’s Singles (Runs 3/4) — 5:30 a.m. EST (7:30 p.m. KST)

¯ Short-track Speedskating: Ladies’ 500m (final heat) — 7:11 a.m. EST (9:11 p.m. KST)

¯ Snowboard: Ladies’ Halfpipe (final run) — 9 p.m. EST Monday (11 a.m. KST Tuesday)

¯ Speedskating: Men’s 1,500m — 6 a.m. EST (8 p.m. KST)

¯ Curling: Mixed Doubles (bronze medal game) — 7:05 p.m. EST Monday (9:05 a.m. KST Tuesday)

¯ Curling: Mixed Doubles (gold medal game) — 6:05 a.m. EST (8:05 p.m. KST)

USA team events

¯ Ice Hockey: Women — USA vs. OAR (Olympic Athlete from Russia) — 7:10 a.m. EST (9:10 p.m. KST)

WEDNESDAY, FEB. 14

Medal competition

¯ Alpine Skiing: Ladies’ Slalom (final run) — 11:45 p.m. EST Tuesday (1:45 p.m. KST Wednesday)

¯ Biathlon: Women’s 15km Individual — 6:05 a.m. EST (8:05 p.m. KST)

¯ Luge: Doubles (Runs1/2) — 6:20 a.m. EST (8:20 p.m. KST)

¯ Nordic Combined: Gundersen NH/10km XC — 3:45 a.m. EST (5:45 p.m. KST)

¯ Snowboard: Men’s Halfpipe (final run) — 9:30 p.m. EST Tuesday (11:30 a.m. KST Wednesday)

¯ Speedskating: Ladies’ 1,000m — 5 a.m. EST (7 p.m. KST)

USA team events

¯ Curling: Men — USA vs. Republic of Korea — 7:05 p.m. EST Tuesday (9:05 a.m. KST Wednesday)

¯ Curling: Women: USA vs. Japan — 12:05 a.m. EST (2:05 p.m. KST)

¯ Ice Hockey: Men — USA vs. Slovenia — 7:10 a.m. EST (9:10 p.m. KST)

THURSDAY, FEB. 15

Medal competition

¯ Alpine Skiing: Men’s Super-G — 9 p.m. EST Wednesday (11 a.m. KST Thursday)

¯ Biathlon: Men’s 20km Individual — 6 a.m. EST (8 p.m. KST)

¯ Cross-Country Skiing: Ladies’ 10km Free — 1:30 a.m. EST (3:30 p.m. KST)

¯ Figure Skating: Pair Skating/Free Skating — 8:30 p.m. EST Wednesday (10:30 a.m. KST Thursday)

¯ Luge: Team Relay — 7:30 a.m. EST (9:30 p.m. KST)

¯ Snowboard: Men’s Snowboard Cross (big final) — 12:45 a.m. EST (2:45 p.m. KST)

¯ Speedskating: Men’s 10,000m — 6 a.m. EST (8 p.m. KST)

USA team events

¯ Curling: Women — USA vs. Great Britain — 7:05 p.m. EST Wednesday (9:05 a.m. KST Thursday)

¯ Curling: Women — USA vs. Switzerland — 6:05 a.m. EST (8:05 p.m. KST)

¯ Ice Hockey: Women: USA vs. Canada — 9:10 p.m. EST Wednesday (11:10 a.m. KST Thursday)

FRIDAY, FEB. 16

Medal competition

¯ Cross-Country Skiing: Men’s 15km Free — 1 a.m. EST (3 p.m. KST)

¯ Freestyle Skiing: Ladies’ Aerials (final run) — 6:52 a.m. EST (8:52 p.m. KST)

¯ Skeleton: Men (Runs 3/4) — 7:30 p.m. EST Thursday (9:30 a.m. KST Friday)

¯ Snowboard: Ladies’ Snowboard Cross (big final) — 10:56 p.m. EST Thursday (12:56 p.m. KST Friday)

¯ Speedskating: Ladies’ 5,000m — 6 a.m. EST (8 p.m. KST)

USA team events

¯ Curling: Men — USA vs. Sweden — 7:05 p.m. EST Thursday (9:05 a.m. KST Friday)

¯ Curling: Men — USA vs. Denmark — 6:05 a.m. EST (8:05 p.m. KST)

¯ Ice Hockey: Men — USA vs. Slovakia — 10:10 p.m. EST Thursday (12:10 p.m. KST Friday)

NEWSLETTER

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today