NY adds 4 states to quarantine list

Four additional states — Delaware, Maryland, Ohio and West Virginia — now qualify for New York state’s COVID-19 travel advisory, which means people coming from those states to New York must quarantine for 14 days, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Tuesday.

Puerto Rico and the United States Virgin Islands have been removed from the quarantine list, which now contains 35 states and territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or an area with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today