Lax tourney to honor award winners

LAKE PLACID — The 30th annual Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse tournament is set to begin on Monday at the North Elba Athletic Fields, Lake Placid Horse Show Grounds and the Northwood School. Games continue through Sunday, Aug. 11, with more than 250 teams playing in 26 age group divisions on 12 fields.

On Thursday, three new Lake Placid Legends will be inducted at a ceremony at the Intervales Lodge, located at the base of the Olympic ski jumps, across the street from the Horse Show Grounds. Former Syracuse University head coach Roy Simmons, Jr., the late Paul Rose, and Phil Kessler are this year’s newest additions.

In addition to the Legends, seven other group or individual awards will also be celebrated at Intervales Lodge on Thursday. Here is the run-down of these awards and honorees:

Dan Spillett Award (’04) — presented in loving memory to a Grand Masters participant who has shown courage and determination through his years of play at Lake Placid

Past winners

2004: Mark Walsh

2005: Mike Fisher

2006: Paul Rose

2007: Al Brown

2008: Bob DiPuppo

2009: Bob Deegan

2010: Dave White

2011: Dom Starsia

This year’s winner: Charlie Hartigan

Jim Muhlfelder Award (’04) — presented to a women’s division participant, someone who has been instrumental in launching women’s play at Lake Placid

Past winners

2004: Cater Ortolano

2005: Lyn Reitenbach

2006: Rick Nelson

2007: Skip Spensieri

2008: Andi O’Connor

2009: Perky Nillissen

2010: Lucy Goodridge

2011: Kate Colley

This year’s winner: Brenda Doll

Larry Piatelli Award (’04) — presented in fond memory to a men’s lacrosse official who has been a long-time positive presence wearing the stripes at Lake Placid

Past winners

2004: Parker Simonds

2005: Jim Luchsinger

2006: Joe Mars

2007: Mike Onorato

2008: Clark Mercer

2009: Lee Weiser

2010: Wes Bachur

2011: Ted Murphy

2012: Curt Lingenfelter

2013: Greg Norris

This year’s winner: Pat Jank

Travis Solomon Award (’10) — presented in memory to a player/participant who has demonstrated not only great skills, but also a traditional, respectful approach for the game

Past winners

2010: Travis Solomon

2011: Roy Simmons III

2012: George Leveille

This year’s winner: Steve Chambers

Tom Pillsworth Award (’10) — presented to a staff member who has provided his/her services to the Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Tournament over the course of many years

Past winners

2010: Tom Pillsworth

2011: Town of North Elba Park District

This year’s winner: Andrea Lister

Lax All Stars “Grow The Game” Award (’18) — presented to someone who has had a significant impact on the growth of lacrosse in his/her region and has had a strong connection to the Summit Classic

Past winners

2018: The Queener Family

This year’s winner: Tri-Lakes Youth Lacrosse

The Legends ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. Thursday at the Intervales Lodge. The event is open to the public; a donation will be collected at the door and a donation from the Legends Foundation will later go to selected charities.