Town board candidates picked in primaries

North Elba resident Barbara Whitney votes in the Republican primary Tuesday at the North Elba Town Hall in Lake Placid. (Enterprise photo — Elizabeth Izzo)

Republican and Democratic voters in North Elba, Keene and Jay went to the polls Tuesday to choose town board candidates in this year’s primary elections.

Across the county, more than 1,900 votes were cast in 11 races across Essex County. There were also primary races in Elizabethtown, Chesterfield, Crown Point, Newcomb and Willsboro.

It’s unclear how many absentee and affidavit ballots are left to be counted in each of the towns. The county Board of Elections was not immediately available for comment Tuesday night.

Franklin County uses caucuses instead of primaries to choose each party’s candidates.

North Elba

Uncertified results from the Essex County Board of Elections show North Elba Town Board candidates Richard D. Cummings, a 62-year-old Lake Placid pharmacist, and Doug Hoffman, a 69-year-old certified public accountant, businessman and two-time congressional candidate, appear to have gained ballot access on the Republican line.

Cummings garnered 145 votes and Hoffman 92.

If the certified results show newcomer Jeremy Mihill, the owner of a local septic company who garnered 83 votes, did not win the Republican line, he will still appear on the ballot in the Nov. 5 general election as an independent candidate on the Integrity line.

In all, six candidates are vying for two town board seats carrying four-year terms. Other candidates include Independence Party candidate Richard “Rik” Cassidy; Bob Rafferty, running as a Democrat and as an independent under the ADK Residents party line; and Democrat Emily Politi, who is also running on the LP Local party line.

Town Councilman Bob Miller is declining to seek re-election, and Jay Rand’s seat is open as he runs for supervisor.


In Keene, two town board seats carrying four-year terms are up for election this November.

Town planning board co-chair David Deyo and incumbent councilman Jerry Smith appear to have secured Republican ballot lines in Tuesday’s primary. Deyo received 46 votes and Smith 28. They will also appear under the Justice and Worker party lines, respectively.

The apparent loser of the primary, Hudson Art Center owner John Hudson, fell behind Smith by just four votes. If he remains behind after the results are certified, he will still appear on the ballot this November as an independent candidate on the Framers line.

Other candidates running for a town council seat include Independence Party candidates Devon Holbrook and Jennifer Whitney. Whitney is also running as an independent candidate on the Honesty party line.


Democratic voters in Jay appear to have selected candidate Knut Sauer by a wide margin to run for the two-year unexpired term of Bob Segall.

Sauer, a former international sales and marketing manager, appears to have won in a landslide: He received 92 votes to Christopher Garrow’s 36.

Garrow did not file an independent petition and will not appear on the ballot this November.

Segall resigned in February, citing health problems and opposition from his colleagues on the town board. Garrow, Essex County’s Department of Public Works superintendent, was appointed to the seat until the next election.

There are two more town board seats carrying four-year terms up for grabs in the November election, and four other candidates are also running for those positions: Democrat Wayne Roger Frederick; Adam Coolidge, an independent candidate on the Community First party line; Republican Thomas McDonald; and John Sheldrake, who is running on the Republican party line and on the independent Honesty party line.