Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Customer Service | Tearsheets | Media Kit | Home RSS

Stone pads points lead with first win of season

June 19, 2012
Adirondack Daily Enterprise

SOUTH PLATTSBURGH - Todd Stone of Middlebury, Vt. worked under Kris Vernold on lap 18 and led the rest of the way to earn his first modified win of the season on NYSCOPBA night at Airborne on Saturday. Stone, driving the G. Stone Motors 1X, began the night as the points leader and started 14th.

Patrick Dupree, helped by the fourth and final restart on lap 21, shot past Vernold on the backstretch to claim second when green flag racing resumed, but he was unable to reel Stone in. Aaron Bartemy came up through the field after starting 25th to finish fourth, just ahead of George Foley in fifth. Foley, a three-time feature winner got turned around on lap five and had to pit for a tire.

The second half of the top 10 was filled by Andy Lindeman, Vince Quenneville, Mike Wells, Adam Bartemy and Chris Cayea.

The third yellow came out for contact at the front between leaders Craig Reyell and Michael Viens. Their demise moved Vernold and Lindeman to the front row. At that point, Stone was running fourth and Dupree was in seventh.

"My crew got the car going great after a tough start," Stone said. "I could catch Kris (Vernold) down the straights, but he had me in the corners. I finally got under him. You've got to race your own race and try to be there in the end. You can't worry about who's behind you even if it's the No. 24 (Dupree)".

Defending champion Robin Wood powered to his first win in the 25-lap Limited Late Model feature. He had to hold off Bucko Branham who reached his rear spoiler at the halfway mark. Granham was second, with Jamy Begor third, Dave Rabtoy fourth and Brandon Atkins fifth.

"We went back to our original setup after changing a lot of things to race in Canada," Wood said. "We finally pulled it off and won one."

Joe Warren of Chazy, driving the Freihofer's/Bud Light Lime No. 13, passed Robert Gordon for the lead on lap nine and won the Renegade feature. Gordon held off fast-closing Tylor Terry to finish second. Lance Rabtoy was fourth, followed by Don Franklin.

Lonnie Rivers of Cadyville wired the field from the outside pole to claim his first sportsman modified win. Points leader Nick Heywood was the runner-up. Travis Bruno, Jamie LaFountain and Sebastien Fournier were next in line.

Jayson Criss of Plattsburgh piloted the Monster Energy/JT Mechanical No. 54 to a win in the 15-lap Mini Modified feature.

Airborne hosts a DIRTcar 358 Modified Asphalt Series event Wednesday, with many invaders including Frank Cozze and Kenny Tremont expected. Post time is 7 p.m.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web