Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Customer Service | Tearsheets | Media Kit | Home RSS

Foley wins bruiser at Airborne

June 12, 2012
Adirondack Daily Enterprise

PLATTSBURGH - George Foley drove the Loreman's/Egglefield Ford No. 34 to his third win in the 30-lap Modified main event Saturday. It was high-attrition race, which needed three red flags before completion.

Foley gained the lead after race leaders Mike Reyell and Todd Ormsby collided in turn one as Foley was attempting to swoop them on the outside. Reyell had survived three earlier wrecks and was on his way to his best finish of the season, but he was unable to return. Ormsby and five other cars pitted, moving Greg Atkins and Patrick Dupree into second and third.

Dupree passed Atkins on the restart lap, but he couldn't get to Foley. He finished second, but failed post-race tech inspection due to a tire violation. Matt Woodruff was a season's best third behind Atkins, the new runner-up. Chris Cayea, overcame an earlier flat tire to finish fourth, one spot ahead of Leon Gonyo fifth.

Article Photos

Matt Woodruff of Bloomingdale (55) pulls even with Pierre Berthiaume during Saturday’s 30-lap Modified main event at Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh. Woodruff finished third for his best finish of the season. George Foley of Vermontville won the race.
(Photo provided)

Positions six through 10 went to Todd Stone in the 1X, Jason Durgan, Pierre Berthiaume, Kris Vernold and Jessey Mueller.

Pat McGrail, who began the night with the points lead, suffered a hard hit into the front stretch wall and failed to finish.

It was Foley's third win of the season.

"You can tell we rained out last week," Foley said. "I pushed the car towards the end a little more than I like to because I knew the No. 24 (Dupree) was back there."

Jamy Begor emerged as the J&S Steel Limited Late Model winner after much contact with Bucko Branham during an earlier restart and exiting turn four with two laps left. Branham and Shawn Duquette brushed one another at the front of the field and Branham and Begor, running third on the bottom, crossed paths seconds later.

"He came across the nose and I kept my foot in it," Begor said. "It's the best win I've ever had." Duquette was the runner-up. Keith Pelkey, Dave Rabtoy and Brandon Atkins finished 3-4-5.

Jason McClatchie of Plattsburgh passed "Big Daddy" Don Franklin after a dozen laps of side-by-side racing to claim the Renegade checkers. McClatchie reached Franklin's door on lap 22 after gaining inches per lap, and took the lead on lap 23 of the 25-lap race. Andy Bordeau of Dannemora was a close third. Josh Terry, just back from a trip to the hospital after an accident in the pits, finished fourth. Rick Doner completed the top five.

Sebastien Fournier of St-Leonard, Quebec, the apparent Sportsman Modified feature winner, failed post-race inspection. That made a winner of Jake Branham. Chris Sousie was second. Jimmy Intone Jr. wound up in third.

Erick Sayles of Lake Placid won the Mini Modified feature.


Saturday's results

Taylor's Rental/Golden's Night

Ernie's Discount Tools Modifieds

Feature (30 laps): 1. George Foley (Vermontville), 2. Greg Atkins, 3. Matt Woodruff, 4. Chris Cayea, 5. Leon Gonyo, 6. Todd Stone, 7. Jason Durgan, 8. Pierre Berthiaume, 9. Kris Vernold, 10.Jessey Mueller, 11.Mikhail Labreche, 12.Alain Fournier, 13. Maxime Viens, 14.Andy Heywood, 15.Michael Viens, 16. Roger Labreche, 17. Vince Quenneville, 18.Aaron Bartemy, 19.Craig Reyell, 20.Andy Lindeman, 21.Mike Reyell, 22.Todd Ormsby, 23.Adam Bartemy, 24.Mike Wells, 25.Pat McGrail, 26.Richard Tisseur, 27.Francois Bellemare. Patrick Dupree - DQ.

Heat winners: Kris Vernold, Roger Labreche, Craig Reyell.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web