Democratic primary election voting today

A primary election will be held throughout New York today to determine the Democratic Party’s official candidates for leading state offices, plus Franklin County sheriff, and the Reform Party’s candidate for state attorney general.

Polls will be open from noon to 9 p.m.

Only registered voters enrolled with the Democratic Party can vote in that primary. On their ballots are two candidates for state governor, Cynthia Nixon and incumbent Andrew Cuomo; two candidates for lieutenant governor, incumbent Kathy Hochul and Jurnaane Williams; and four candidates for attorney general: Sean Patrick Maloney, Letitia James, Leecia Eve and Zephyr Teachout. Franklin County Democrats will also be asked to choose one of two candidates for county sheriff: Bruce Barney of Malone or Jordanna Mallach of Saranac Lake.

The Reform Party is opening its primary only to voters who are not enrolled in any other party. Those voters will choose one of three candidates for state attorney general: Nancy Silwa, Mike Diederich and Christopher Garvey. This Reform Party is not linked to the national Reform Party; rather, it has its roots in the Stop Common Core party line that Republican Rob Astorino created when he ran for governor in 2014.

There are no other party primaries.

The last day to register to vote in time to participate in this primary was Aug. 19.

Voting will take place at the following locations in the Enterprise coverage area of southern Franklin County and northwest Essex County:

Franklin County, by town

¯ Brighton — Town Hall, 12 Franklin County Route 31, Paul Smiths

¯ Franklin — Town Hall, 7 Cold Brook Road, Vermontville

¯ Harrietstown — Town Hall, 39 Main St., Saranac Lake

¯ Santa Clara — Town Hall, 5359 state Route 30, Saranac Inn

¯ Tupper Lake — Holy Ghost Parish Center, 40 Marion St., Tupper Lake

Essex County, by town

¯ Jay

¯ District 1 — Amos and Julia Ward Theater, 12 Parkside Road, Jay

¯ District 2 — Town office, 11 School Lane, AuSable Forks

¯ Keene

¯ District 1 — Town Hall, 10892 state Route 9N, Keene

¯ District 2 — Fire hall, 15 Market St., Keene Valley

¯ North Elba

¯ Districts 1, 3, 4 — Town Hall downstairs, 2693 Main St., Lake Placid

¯ Districts 5, 6 — Town Hall upstairs, 2693 Main St., Lake Placid

¯ Districts 2, 7 — Town House, 193 River St., Saranac Lake

¯ St. Armand — Town Hall, 1702 State Route 3, Bloomingdale

¯ Wilmington — Community Center, 7 Community Circle, Wilmington